Thursday, March 8, 2018

Killer Crabs: The Return by Guy N. Smith

Crabs Cult Classic Book 7

Almost twenty-four years had passed since we last heard of those devious, flesh-eating human hating crabs. Meanwhile, back at Black Hill, Guy N. Smith had been busy writing some amazing books. Great stuff like The Pony Riders, The Black Fedora, Bamboo Guerillas, The Lurkers, Mania, and so many others. Some of these I’ve covered on this blog, and I’ll cover many others in the future. But we all knew those crabs would be back. We’ve been waiting, and then suddenly Smith delivers. Killer Crabs: The Return is a worthy addition to the crab’s saga, and well worth the wait. A true sequel to Killer Crabs, Cliff Davenport returns to face-off against the crabs yet again. Also present is Brock Logan, the son of Harvey Logan who was eaten in Killer Crabs. Brock wants revenge for his father’s murder, and being a skilled big game hunter he has the weapons and nerves to make that happen. Brock meets a shapely lass named Karen who elicits a tell-tale erection, and everything is in place for a crab’s showdown. Smith doesn’t change his successful formulae, although there are some surprises, namely in who survives and who doesn’t this time. Killer Crabs: The Return is short, really a novelette. Cliff Davenport is a realist when he wonders if there is some Queen Crab out there, spawning “another batch of monsters.” Smith always leaves open the possibility for another full-scale rampaging return.


Night of the Crabs (1976)
Killer Crabs (1978)
The Origin of the Crabs (1979)
Crabs on the Rampage (1981)
Crabs’ Moon (1984)
Crabs: The Human Sacrifice (1988)
Killer Crabs: The Return (2012)
Crabs Omnibus (shorts collection, 2015)

No comments:

Post a Comment

I apologize for the necessity to moderate comments, but somebody opened the zoo cages and the beasts are running amok!