Tuesday, March 6, 2018

Crabs’ Moon by Guy N. Smith

Crabs Cult Classic Book 5

After Crabs on the Rampage, Guy N. Smith was a tad tired of writing the crabs series, according to his own admission in his autobiography. Crabs on the Rampage was intended to be the last book, but perhaps Guy knew he couldn’t really escape the crabs. There was always room for a sequel. Crabs’ Moon followed in 1984. By now Smith had written some classic horror thrillers, The Slime Beast, The Wood, Dead End, Satan’s Snowdrop, Bloodshow and many more. He was prolific and he has a following to this day of ardent fans, myself included. Crabs’ Moon is vintage pulp horror. Smith follows the same formulae he employed for the previous four books, and starts out with bang-up action and thriller sequence. He introduces characters that are fully developed, and then does the unthinkable by having them eaten by the giant crabs. There’s a little sex, lots of gore, incredible suspense, and good and evil characters alike that find themselves victims of the malevolent crabs. Smith’s descriptive powers are on full display, and Crabs’ Moon is another rousing success. I give Smith credit for possessing an absolutely fantastic imagination. Cliff Davenport from book 1 makes another brief appearance. In all of the crab’s books there are appearances or references to characters from all of the stories. Smith has done a fine job of creating a cast of characters that are memorable, even if most of them do become breakfast for the hungry crabs.


Night of the Crabs (1976)
Killer Crabs (1978)
The Origin of the Crabs (1979)
Crabs on the Rampage (1981)
Crabs’ Moon (1984)
Crabs: The Human Sacrifice (1988)
Killer Crabs: The Return (2012)
Crabs Omnibus (shorts collection, 2015)

No comments:

Post a Comment

I apologize for the necessity to moderate comments, but somebody opened the zoo cages and the beasts are running amok!